Some Investment Tips During A Slow Economy


Forget about online schemes, day trading, or penny stocks. Their promoters often talk a good talk but unfortunately trying to make money using these techniques takes a lot of luck, way too much time, and usually offers very little in return at the end of the day.

Savings, Checking Accounts, Stocks, CD’s, Bonds?

At present, short-term CD’s and treasury bonds may be your best bet depending on what kinds of rates and lengths of commitment you can find. Regular savings and checking accounts offer zero or essentially zero interest anymore so why give a bank your hard-earned cash just to have them turn around and reinvest it in other higher-yield accounts?

Like checking and savings accounts, CD’s and treasury bonds are insured by the federal government. Unless the government declares bankruptcy before your term is up, which actually isn’t really all that far-fetched these days, you will be guaranteed to receive full interest on a CD or bond at the end of your investment term. Keep in mind, CD’s can carry heavy penalties if you withdraw anything before your maturity date. Bonds can only be exchanged for their full value once their maturity date has arrived.

One of the American banks with the best rates, both borrowing rates and lending rates, at present is the branchless bank ING Direct. ING is able to cut costs by not having to staff banks, not having to set up their own independent ATM’s (money can be withdrawn at most generic ATM machines for free), and by offering and encouraging its customers to take advantage of its plethora of paperless and online banking options. They also rarely, if ever, change fees and if they do it’s usually only a very small percentage (3 or 5% APR) in cases of overdrawing your account. There are no late fees, overdraft fees, inactivity penalties, or anything of that sort. I’ve banked with Wells Fargo/Wachovia, TD/Commerce Bank, Fleet, Bank of America, Citibank, JP Morgan Chase, American Express, Discover, and several others over the years. ING is the only one I’ve been with for nearly a decade straight and have never had any major issue with.

Last I checked, they offer 6 month, 12 month, 2 year, 3 year, 4 year, and 5 year CD options all with very competitive rates of return considering the Fed rate languishes at 0.25%.

Not to turn this into a free ad for ING Direct, but they’re easily the best banking company I have ever had to deal with. There isn’t even a close second.

Mutual Funds/Money Market Accounts:

These can be iffy in an economy like this. It’s possibly best to have a financial adviser discuss things with you before risking large sums of money in these accounts. Then again, a financial adviser told me to invest in one of them shortly before 9/11 and the dot.com bubble burst, so don’t necessarily be fooled by the so-called experts. A general rule of thumb when investing into any type of diversified funds account that’s based heavily on the U.S. stock market, and possibly international stock markets as well, is to be conservative if you’re investing for the short term and be more daring and risky with the more volatile options if you are investing for the long-term (25-30 years or longer), for example as a new worker who’s saving for retirement.

An even better option, depending on your own personal situation, could be to diversify your portfolio across high-risk, low-risk, high-yield, low-yield, U.S.-geared funds, European-geared funds, Asian-geared funds, some big known names, some unknown random picks, and anything and everything in between. The more diversified your portfolio is, the better your chances that you’ll at least be making something back in the end.

Stocks:

They’re a crapshoot, especially in these volatile times. As I said above, diversifying your portfolio is the key. It’s easier and more affordable–no need to pay a broker–to do this with a Money Market portfolio, many of which are made up of dozens or even hundreds of different stocks already, than to handpick individual stocks yourself and have to constantly monitor the markets and have your broker on speed dial.

Gold, Silver, Platinum:

Personally I wish I had invested in gold when those late-night infomercials began airing a decade or so ago. Ever since as the prices have risen I’ve convinced myself it can’t go any higher, it can’t go any higher, and I have ended up being wrong the whole way. I’m still thinking to myself, this is it, how could it go up anymore from these kinds of record levels? But I’ve been wrong for a decade. My advice here is caveat emptor. It could keep rising for a few more years or implode. I’m staying away just because the reality has been so different from what I expected. Is it an anomaly? Is it the new safest bet for a long-term high-yield investment? I have no idea and it’s that uncertainty that’s kept me away.

What About My Pension or the Social Security System?

Don’t necessarily count on Social Security or a work-based pension program. Neither of these are guaranteed. They’re assistance that we all hope to one day be able to take advantage of after having paid into them for so many years, but in this economy there are no guarantees anymore.

14 Comments

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    • Thank you, I appreciate the support greatly.

  2. great post.

  3. Thank you for your work. Article helped me a lot

  4. if you want, I’ll write you articles. Copywriter looking for work

  5. It is really a nice and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  6. hey i came to youre website, and I have read some great articles on it.

  7. There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  8. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed! Very helpful information particularly the remaining section 🙂 I take care of such information much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  9. Terrific work! This is the type of information that are supposed to be shared around the net. Disgrace on the seek engines for now not positioning this put up upper! Come on over and consult with my site . Thanks =)

  10. This is the reason I keep coming back to this website. I can not believe all the new stuff since the last time!

  11. Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is an extremely smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  12. OsterlohCupples6061@googlemail.com

    Hello there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and in my view recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

Trackbacks

  1. Vocab of the Day: Investment « Econoblog

Your Thoughts?

